Member Institutions

Comprehensive Academic and Research Universities

Comprehensive academic and research institutions offer a range of academic and professional programs, and have a strong research focus.

Undergraduate Universities

Baccalaureate and applied studies institutions focus on undergraduate level education and applied research. They don’t offer master’s or doctoral programs.

Comprehensive Community Colleges

Comprehensive community institutions prepare students for work or further learning.

Polytechnic Institutions

Polytechnics provide industry and career training, including apprenticeship and continuing education.

Specialized Arts and Cultural Institutions

This institution focuses on fine arts and culture.

Independent Academic Institutions

Although independent academic institutions are partly governed by the Post-secondary Learning Act and work towards the province’s 5 adult learning system principles, they primarily operate under their own legislation.